Water Legacy Award & "Be the Vision"

The Water Legacy Award recipient is selected based on significant contributions and lasting impacts on the future of water in the state. Past recipients of the award include Wayne Bossert in 2015, Joe Harkins in 2016, Pat Sauble in 2017, David Pope in 2018 and most recently, Mike Hayden in 2019. 

“Be the Vision” recipients, which can be individuals, municipalities, companies or organizations, are selected as an entity or individual taking extraordinary measures to conserve, reuse or adopt better practices to help ensure the future of our state’s water resources.

To nominate an individual please choose from the forms below. Please email your nomination form to kwo-info@kwo.ks.gov by the deadline of October 1, 2020.

Water Legacy Nomination Form
Be the Vision Nomination Form

Water Legacy Award

The 2019 Water Legacy Award winner was Mike Hayden, who has epitomized what public service for water and natural resources stands for all across the state and country and help implement the modern water resource management funding and principles used today. Starting with his role as legislator to the 41st Governor of Kansas to Asst. Secretary of the Dept. of Interior for Fish Wildlife and Parks of the U.S. under the Bush administration to Secretary of Kansas Dept. of Wildlife Parks, he has spent decades leading many groundbreaking initiatives.

“The challenges ahead are greater than what we have faced in the past,” Hayden said. “There are many who say we needn’t take political risk, but you have to have vision, and you have to be willing to put your name on it to truly make a difference for the future.”

Mike Hayden


Previous Water Legacy Award Recipients


2018 Water Legacy Award Recipient, David Pope


Photo of Joe Harkins

2016 Water Legacy Award Recipient, Joe Harkins

2017 Water Legacy Award Recipient, Pat Sauble

2017 Water Legacy Award Recipient, Pat Sauble

Photo of Wayne Bossert

2015 Water Legacy Award Recipient, Wayne Bossert

"Be the Vision"



2019 "Be the Vision" Recipients

Garden City Company
Maize High School Climate Club
Public Wholesale Water Supply District No. 23

Be the Vision Award Winners

To view an interactive map of the 2017 "Be the Vision" Recipients, click the image below:


KWO Office
900 SW Jackson Street
Suite 404
Topeka, Kansas 66612
Phone: 785-296-3185
Fax: 785-296-0878
Toll Free: 1-888-526-9283
Email the Office
Copyright © 2015 Kansas Water Office. All Rights Reserved.