2023 Governor's Conference Presentations

Day One

Tom Buschatzke, Director, Arizona Department of Water Resources

Dr. Peter Gleick, Author, Co-Founder, Pacific Institute

Jasmin Moore, Director of Sustainability and Impact, Earthjustice, “Ripples of Change: Water and Environmental Justice”

Indigenous Voices Panel Discussion

Edward Fite, Grand River Dam Authority

Timothy Rhodd, Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska

Christina Haswood

Environmental Justice Panel Discussion

Jeff Severin, Heartland Environmental Justice Center

Beto Martinez, Clean Air Now

Kate Gleeson, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Collaborating for State Conservation Funding Panel Discussion


Kent Askren, Kansas Farm Bureau

Ben Postlethwait, The Nature Conservancy

Jordan Martincich, Pheasant Forever, Inc. and Quails Forever

Erika Devore, Kansas Recreation and Parks Association



Day Two

Breakout Session I

Water Quality Monitoring and Trends

Moderator: Erin Seybold (University of Kansas)


Education and Outreach

Moderator: Keri Harris (Franklin County Conservation District)


Drought Assessment and Planning

Moderator: Matthew Sittel (Kansas State University)


Groundwater Monitoring, Planning, and Reporting

Moderator: James Butler (Kansas Geological Survey)


Kansas Irrigation Updates
Moderator: Weston McCary (Kansas Water Office)

Breakout Session II

Kansas Healthy Watersheds


Moderator: Libby Albers (Kansas Alliance for Wetlands and Streams)





Water Conservation Measures
Moderator: Shannon Kenyon (Groundwater Management District #4)



Tuttle Creek Lake Water Injection Dredging

Moderator: Josh Olson (Kansas Water Office)


Tools in the Agricultural Toolbox

Moderator: Katie Durham (Groundwater Management District #1)


Surface Water Algae Bloom Monitoring

Moderator: Dan Wells (Kansas Department of Health and Environment)


Navigating Challenges with Perseverance and Partnerships

Breakout Session III

Extreme Events and Mitigation


Moderator: Jude Kastens (Kansas Geological Survey)




Municipal Water Resources

Moderator: Dwight Haney (Water Assurance District #1)


Erosion and Reservoir Sedimentation

Moderator: Kristin Kloft (Division of Conservation)


Emerging Issues
Moderator: Tony Stahl (Kansas Department of Health and Environment)


Groundwater Modeling and Data
Moderator: Richard Rockel (Kansas Water Office)




KWO Office
900 SW Jackson Street
Suite 404
Topeka, Kansas 66612
Phone: 785-296-3185
Fax: 785-296-0878
Toll Free: 1-888-526-9283
Email the Office
Copyright © 2015 Kansas Water Office. All Rights Reserved.