Kansas Water Authority

The Kansas Water Authority was established in 1981 within and as part of the Kansas Water Office. The KWA provides the leadership to ensure that water policies and programs address the needs of all Kansans. 

The KWA consists of 13 voting members who are appointed by the Governor or Legislative leadership. The remaining serve as ex-officio members. KWA is statutorily within and a part of the KWO. The KWA is responsible for advising the Governor, Legislature and Director of the Kansas Water Office on water policy issues and for approving the Kansas Water Plan, federal contracts, administration regulations and legislation proposed by the KWO. The KWA provides the leadership to ensure that water policies and programs address the needs of all Kansans.

                                            2020 Kansas Water Authority Annual Report to the Governor and Legislature


Kansas Water Authority Responsibilities

As defined in Kansas Statute 74-2622, the responsibilities of the KWA are:

Meet the Members

map_KWA_members_& ex-officios_RPA_011719_kg

Kansas Water Authority Ex Officio Members

David Barfield
Division of Water Resources
KS Dept. of Agriculture

Brad Loveless
KS Dept. Wildlife, Parks & Tourism

Mike Beam
KS Dept. of Agriculture


Ernie Minton
Ag Experiment Station
KS State University

David Toland
KS Dept. of Commerce

Earl Lewis
KS Water Office


Rob Reschke
Division of Conservation
KS Dept. of Agriculture

Sara Baer
KS Biological Survey

Susan Duffy
KS Corporation Commission

Leo Henning
KS Dept. of Health & Environment

Rolfe Mandel
KS Geological Survey


KWA Meeting Materials

Upcoming Meetings
Kansas Water Authority Meeting

April 14, 2020

Meeting Venue - Changed

This meeting will now be held as a conference call\ GoTo Meeting
More information to come

Previous KWA Meeting Materials

Previous KWA Meeting Minutes

KWO Office
900 SW Jackson Street
Suite 404
Topeka, Kansas 66612
Phone: 785-296-3185
Fax: 785-296-0878
Toll Free: 1-888-526-9283
Email the Office
Copyright © 2015 Kansas Water Office. All Rights Reserved.